Sometimes It’s Something More

So….apparently my bout of insomnia last evening was a bit more than just an over-active brain or excessive caffeine (is there such a thing?).

I woke up this morning with awful aches and an upset stomach. Just sitting and taking phone calls was an act of willpower. I think I made it through just over an hour before my body made me thrown in the towel. It was when I laid down for a nap that I began to think that this virus was more than just insidious. It was also cruel. Everything was so super-sensitized that every little noise would bring me back from the edge of sweet sleep (which I desperately needed after only 3 1/2 to 4 hours last night).

Anyway, you realize how thankful you are for the people in your life when you are forced to rely on them….which can sometimes be hard for a somewhat type-A introvert. It was Daniel who made me log out and explain to my employer why I couldn’t work today. It was Daniel who made me go lay down to try to rest. It was Daniel who made me some rice to eat with my miso soup when my appetite started to return. It is so wonderful to have someone who cares and takes care of you when you can’t. I have had the complete opposite, which makes Daniel all that much more precious to me.

How good is it that we have a God who cares for us in the same manner? Who takes us from the beast that we were and brings us into enlightenment.

Tonight, I look forward to getting a good night sleep. And maybe I’ll be up in time to see the sunrise tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

